top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaya

Interesting Quick Contrast Conversation With Judith Byberg-The Biolight-Lamps In Felt And Nunofelt.

Updated: Nov 20, 2020




Plastics should be 100% banned says "Judith Byberg", even she strictly believes that the recycled plastics should be avoided from being used by the designers and common people.

The ultimate goal of my research is to bring attention back to mankind, evoking emotions without mediation, without interpretation, maintaining constant attention to the ecological aspect, and making people aware of careful consumption, recycling with a view to contributing to making the world more sustainable. I work only with natural materials, mainly carded wool. At the end of the cycle, the electrical part excluded, my lamps can be thrown in the damp or used as fertilizer in the garden. They don't pollute and don't clutter: they have a completely negligible environmental impact and educate against waste.

-Judith Byberg


The Biolight-Lamps In Felt And Nuno

While communicating to Judith I was excited and my prime aim was to aware the audiences that an interior designer isn't about designing the spaces, but they are limitless, and they can be creators (inventors) for future designs with sustainable aspects and leaving an impact with an eco-friendly (Green) living spaces and product design. And, Judith started working and take an initiative back in the year 2012 by creating a handmade light with the green materials known as felt, wood, and LED... She is so clear about the artistic values and being an artist (designer) she is still working on creating such beautiful materials & products.

Lighting is the most important element in the design!


With the ability to largely affect the mood of a room, lighting is the most important element to consider when designing a space. In inclusion, to amend the mood of the occupants in a room, lighting can transform the room in shape and size...and with the green building design aspects, we have become more careful and concerned about these elements while design.


The Biolight-Lamps In Felt And Nuno

Please tell me more about you and your background?


I was born in Roskilde, in Denmark, in 1963, then I moved to Italy in 1976 and obtained my

school-leaving certificate from a School of Arts and I continued my studies at the Milan

Polytechnic, then I got graduated in 1989 with a degree in architecture, discussing the

thesis project in Industrial Design, and worked in the studio of Carlotta de Bevilacqua vice

president of Artemide. And the journey here begins within professional experiences from 1989 to 1994, developing projects for interior design, graphic design, and exhibition spaces. More recently I have designed products for Piazza and Virutex Ilko in the household-ware and kitchenware sectors.

Moreover, since 2011, I began working with felt and with other natural materials. Recently I found validation for my efforts, having been offered an opportunity to exhibit in several art galleries: the “Contini Art Factory” in Venice, the “Voyage Pittoresque Factory” in Naples, “Spazio Tid” in Milan, Pila gallery Orta San Giulio, "Ecomuseo" in Leumannindustrial Village, Collegno(To), and Chiostro di Voltorre (Va). Since 2014 I started to work with exhibition design for companies as Ottinetti, Bisetti, CuArtigiani, and Legnoart in the home and kitchenware sector.




Note: All the Brands she's serving and had worked with are based in Italy.



Are you an interior designer?


Yes. Also in this field, I have a very careful eye for eco-sustainability and the comfort of the

people who live there.



Was wondering how you were got inclination towards this creative process with the Biofelt lighting concept, can you tell us about it more and the way you succeed towards it?

The Biolight-Lamps In Felt And Nuno

The passion for light was clearly born in the years I worked in the studio of Carlotta De

Bevilacqua, vice president of Artemide. As a Nordic, I have always lived light as a very

important part of my life. In Hygge's concept, it is the main element.


Being a designer it was too tricky and researching for me to understand that what actually is Felt and Nuno-Felt Light, however, guess what when I've searched it out it was you who was the only creator of it on Google search engines. But I'll be glad if you tell us more about it with your experiences?


The Biolight-Lamps In Felt And Nuno

No, the connection between felt and light was immediate. Both for the above mentioned

reasons and for the material itself, which is best expressed by the light.


How was your first impression when you got to know about your this creation got

successful?


The Biolight-Lamps In Felt And Nuno

I was very surprised by the result. This collaboration between me and the material amazed me every time. Working the raw wool with other fibers such as cotton, linen, cashmere, silk

cocoons, etc., I was excited to see the infinite expressiveness of these materials. I never

felt I was the creator of my works but a strong collaboration between us.


These are the kind of light-lamps which have surfaced with the felt and Nunofelt a kind of fabric, but are they long-run? And what life span they have?

The Biolight-Lamps In Felt And Nuno

Having started producing my lamps in 2012, I don't have a historical precedent longer than

8 years. Obviously, the lifetime of the lamps depends a lot on how I am preserved. To

maintain them well, they have to be cleaned regularly with a hoover.



Tell us more about the buying process for these lights worldwide?


As I mentioned before, I have not had a historical precedent for more than 8 years. I didn't

go very far in the foreign market. Now I know for sure that there are about ten years left.



Being a designer what other creations you've been working on?


Cutlery Copenhagen


Cutlery Copenhagen

I worked for many years in household-ware and kitchenware sectors.

I think that the most significant project is the Copenhagen cutlery produced by the

company Piazza. The game was to differentiate the shape through the exaltation of asymmetry. An innovative design for professional catering, used for some years at the restaurant of the Triennale di Milano.



Have you ever been to India, well India has been added such handmade creations to the art or design field for many years and they are appreciated by it, have you ever thought to approach this concept to be introduced in India, or my simple question is that are these available for an option to buy in India?


Unfortunately, I have never been to your wonderful country. Of course, now I am ready to

collaborate with countries other than Italy.



What are the key points you'll recommend to any designers or artists to get a specialization or to be focused on inventing something?

The Biolight-Lamps In Felt And Nuno

Constant research into both sustainability and technology. Having a born love for

the art of design.


What is easy for you? Being an inventor or being a professional who is supposed to sell this beautiful concept in the market?


I would say an artist!


Do you find this session interesting and easy to convey your perceptions, ideas to the design field, and coming artists & designer students?


Being constant research of the matter. With students, I would be very agreeable.







Happy Reading!


Jaya Chopra


260 views0 comments

ADDRESS - INDIA

Contact Us

fascinatedinteriors@gmail.com

bottom of page